Morning Fires

Since we’re smack dab in the middle of spring break, (ok, it’s almost over, but anyhow…), I seem to be applying the spring cleaning philosophy with me wherever I go.  “Use it or get rid of it!”  When I had to move our outdoor fireplace to make way for our new planter boxes, I realized we hadn’t really used it in a while.  I always think I will remember when it’s cold, but after dinner on a chilly evening I don’t ever feel like going outside!  Then it occurred to me.  Whenever we camp, my favorite are not the evening campfires, though those are special, too.  I LOVE morning campfires!  A new day.  A fresh start.  Brisk morning air.  The world is quiet.  A cup of coffee… yes, morning campfires rock.

mf 1

At first they were content reading and enjoying the fire and each other’s company.  It was quite sweet!  It didn’t take long before someone asked for the obvious; morning s’mores.  What the heck; it is spring break!

mf 3

mf 2

We’ve since had a couple morning fires, and I think it might be a great new morning devotion spot!  Hooray for re-discovering old treasures!

Leave a Reply

