Homegrown Watermelon

I still have the little stick that came with our watermelon plant, indicating that we bought a “black, seedless watermelon plant.”  Since it says “black,” I’ve been waiting for the watermelon to turn black before I pick it.  Well, it hasn’t been getting black, but the sun has given it some nice yellow sun spots, so I decided to go online to see when it would be ripe for picking.

wat 1

The few places I checked all said to look at the tendril closest to the watermelon, and if it is brown and dried it is ready to pick.  It sounded easy enough, so I checked, and sure enough it was ready!

wat 2

wat 3

It weighed-in at a whopping 6.6 pounds.  (Yikes!  I need to clean my scale!)

wat 4

As you can see, our black, seedless watermelon is neither black, nor seedless.  It was filled with seeds!  The worst part was, it didn’t taste that great.  It wasn’t bad; the texture was good.  But, we must have been lacking something in our soil because it wasn’t super sweet.  I really did zero research on growing a watermelon, and picked our bad drought year, so I am surprised it didn’t turn out worse.  The chickens loved pecking at the rinds.  Overall, it was a fun experience, but I am a little discouraged about growing watermelons…

wat 5

wat 6

It doesn’t really matter how “good” or “bad” the watermelon is — if you stick it on the table with toothpicks, this boy will gobble it up.  The other girls thought it was ok, but only tried one piece.  We have one more watermelon growing, but I think I may rip it out and start planting some lettuce.  Fresh salad; mmmm….

Leave a Reply

