Awesome Friends, Yummy Bread

I briefly mentioned in yesterday’s post that my #3 was sick.  Unfortunately, that meant I couldn’t get to the grocery store for some much-needed items, including bread.  Now, I have always wanted to make my own, and I do quite a bit of “fun” breads… but I have yet to make a simple loaf of old-fashioned crusty bread.  I found a recipe on Pinterest that had a beautiful picture, and called itself “simple.”  I like that.  Somehow, in my mind, I had interpreted simple as quick.   Yes, the recipe was simple.  Very simple. But, it was not quick.  There was much waiting to be done.

First thing in the morning, I made the dough; it took all of 2 minutes, and no kneading was required.  Then Sierra, who had been up all night with a stomach ache, fever, and vomiting, seemed to take a turn for the worse.  Since my husband was at work, I decided to ask a friend to come watch the others while I took Sierra to the doctor, then the lab for blood work, and finally to another lab for an ultrasound.  My friend cancelled her plans and came right over.  She bought the kids pizza for lunch, cleaned the kitchen, and folded all my laundry while I was away.  Then she let me head out to grocery shop for an hour by myself.  Seriously — I feel beyond blessed and grateful!  She is a precious friend.   And, good news… Sierra is feeling much better tonight!  And, more good news… the bread turned out AWESOME!

fb 1

fb 3

fb 2

fb 4

On a side note, I was able to use my tomatoes and zucchini for the soup!

You can find the original recipe here.  I substituted about 1/4 cup of the flour for 1/4 cup flax meal.  I can’t wait to try other variations.  This may be my bread-making year!  Anyone else ready for a cozy Fall dinner of soup and fresh bread?

Leave a Reply

