Thailand Update

Tomorrow marks one week since my husband and 10 year old daughter left for a mission trip to Thailand.  It feels like it’s been a month or more since we’ve seen them!  To be honest, I didn’t expect to hear from them at all.  In fact, my 8 year old even said the other day that she would give away her favorite chicken just to see her sister and dad again that day.  Precious.  But God is good and faithful and has blessed me over and beyond.  I’ve actually received 6 e-mails from him, and in many ways I have felt like I am there with them.

I knew God was going to do a mighty work in and through them.  Yes, of that I was sure.  What I didn’t expect was for him to do a work in me.  My heart is continually praying for them, and God’s presence feels just as tangible here in my little house as it would over in Thailand.  I can’t explain it.

This week my little ones are in a VBS just around the corner.  They are loving it, and I am loving having a little time to myself.  Can you believe God even orchestrated the VBS dates just for me?  (You think I’m kidding, but I’m not!)  I had a divine appointment and was able to pray with a dear friend I hadn’t seen in a long time.  All day long after that I was on a “spiritual high.”

Most of my husband’s e-mails are very personal and deep.  The emotions, the experience, the people, everything… amazing, and difficult to put into words.  I would like to share with you one blurb, however, from his last e-mail.  Here it is:

We have arrived at the children’s home in the city of Ban Den this afternoon.  For the last 24 hours, we have had quite an interesting time.  We drove from the main compound to our first village.  Words will not be adequate to explain what the village is like.  When you hear Pastor Dan talk about the Corrine people from Burma, these are them.  We drove about 3 hours to reach them in the mountains and it was quite the experience.  In this primative village of 450, only 4 families have come to know the Lord.  It was quite a breakthrough to even be able to gain access to these people.  We set up a medical clinic there and helped to install 2 outdoor bathrooms.  But the highlight was the fact that the tribal leader actually invited us to come to his hut to pray for his sick wife.  She had been sick for 2 months and he wanted to give our God a try.  This morning, he came to our clinic and asked for prayer for himself.  That was a huge deal for them and we feel it is the beginning of God doing something big in that village.  
How awesome is our God?  To know my ten year old is there experiencing God’s presence and seeing these things first hand just gives me the chills.  My husband asked in one of his e-mails if I thought things would be different when he comes home.  My answer?  YES!  Of course!  That was our prayer — for God to do a work.  Things are never requite the same around here for long, anyway, right?  Kids grow and mature and change… I grow and mature and change… God is always at work!
So, that is an update!  They still have a week to go, so please keep them and the entire team in your prayers.  I’ll leave you with a few more pictures from our goodbye day, as well as a song that has touched me so deeply this week.  I dare you to listen to it, and not fall on your knees with streams of tears in awe and joy of our awesome God.  It is powerful, I promise.  Listen over and over again until God touches you.  He will.  He wants to.  I know it’s long, but it’s worth it!
gbye
I MISS YOU, Precious ones!!
Leave a Reply

