Valentine’s Day 2015

Valentine”s Day was extra special this year; not only was it our first day back from our trip, but it was also my 40th birthday!  It didn’t matter that we were super tired and got in very early that morning from our trip; the moment I heard my girls’ foot steps in the family room, I flew out of bed!  It was almost surreal to be back home.  The kids were so happy, and so well-loved on by Grandma and Grandpa.  We were welcomed back with cards, flowers, and chocolates.  The kids also had a few souvenirs from our trip and cards from us, as well.  We had a waffle breakfast, and spent the morning talking and cuddling.

hvd 1 hvd 2 hvd 3 hvd 4 hvd 5 hvd 6

Soon it was time for ice skating lessons.  The kids have come a long way since their first week!

hvd 7 hvd 8

We skipped lunch to go to an early sushi dinner.  (We didn’t want to fight the Valentine’s Day crowds.)  It was a fun day, but over far too soon.

Just for fun, I thought I’d list 40 random things about myself for my 40th.

  • I found out in my early 20’s that my name means “joy” in Greek. Immediately I smiled, knowing the gift of joy has been such a blessing in my life!
  • I married my first boyfriend… another huge blessing!
  • I was once a high school math teacher and I love numbers, but I have never thought of myself as very good at math.
  • I was almost a history major and love languages, as well.
  • I spent 6 months studying abroad in Germany when I was in college.
  • I have hitch-hiked through Italy.
  • I spent 2 summers as a camp counselor in Montana, and I think it is the most beautiful place on earth.
  • I have gone river rafting about twenty times.
  • I have seen 2 bald eagles in my life; one in Montana on a river rafting trip, and one in Florida while driving to Cape Canaveral with my grandpa.
  • The most physically difficult feat I have done in my life was hiking all the way down and up the Grand Canyon in one day.
  • I was a star badminton player in high school and went on to coach high school badminton in my twenties.
  • The farthest I have run is the 12k “Bay to Breakers” in San Francisco. Oh, how I want to be able to do that, again.
  • I have never been to a gym, nor ever done an exercise class. I love outdoor sports and jogging.
  • I spent a lot of time alone growing-up, but am so thankful for that time. It was precious growing time in the Lord.
  • I am very low-maintenance; it takes me all of 3 minutes to put my make-up on in the morning, my nails are never painted, and I rarely wear jewelry other than a necklace.
  • I have always wanted to swim with dolphins… I was blessed to do just that on our cruise!
  • I met my husband on e-harmony, though I didn’t even have internet access at home.
  • I have always wanted to homeschool my kids.
  • I know the names of most construction vehicles thanks to my son and his library books.
  • I always have Trader Joe’s dark chocolate peanut butter cups in my refrigerator.
  • I first started drinking coffee black. It wasn’t until my son was born that I began adding cream. (I don’t like coffee creamers; just half and half!)
  • I love the smell of flavored coffees, but don’t like the taste.
  • My favorite class in high school was woodshop. I used to dream of owning a ban saw.
  • The one skill I wish I had was sewing. I am determined to get better at it.
  • I bake almost every day. Mostly, because I love breakfast.
  • I do not like purple at all, but I may have to paint a room purple for my daughters when they get older, as it is one of their favorites.
  • I once prayed that my kids would get my husband’s dark skin and my big eyes. (Silly, I know) God answered my prayer.
  • I have always wanted to adopt, and continue to ask God what this means for our family.
  • I have always been an early to bed, early to rise person. So has my husband. I don’t think I could sleep in if I wanted to!!
  • Although I’ve always been a good sleeper, I would sometimes lay in bed at night with sermons going through my head in high school. I kept a notebook by my bed to write them down. I wish I had that notebook still… what did I write?
  • Being a parent is a dream come true. Kids are the best!
  • If I didn’t have 4 c-sections, who knows how many kids we would have!?
  • I am an extrovert. My husband is an introvert.
  • Someday I hope to study Chinese.
  • The single most influential experience of my life was Summit Ministries in Colorado Springs, CO the summer before my senior year of high school. Before getting married, I made sure my future husband agreed our future kids would go there, as well.
  • I have always wanted to live on a farm.
  • Painting walls and decorating is therapy for me.
  • I don’t like clothes shopping, and could live in jeans.
  • In retirement, my husband and I would love to do mission work.
  • My husband and I have almost identical handwriting.
  • Almost every day at some point, the Jana Alayra song comes into my head, “It’s not about me, me, me, it’s all about You, You, You.” I wish I didn’t need reminding so often!
Leave a Reply

