Zucchini Breakfast Cookies

When I was a kid, if my mom had said we were having cookies for breakfast, I don’t think I would have cared what was in them… because she said “cookies,” I would have happily eaten them!  Fast forward a few years, and now I get to be mom announcing breakfast cookies!  Our first go at it were these Blueberry Coconut Pecan Breakfast Cookies.  Daniel, Allison and I loved them…. everyone else?  Not so much.  Then there were these oatmeal raisin ones.  I liked them, but haven’t made them since.  (Crazy children!)  Then there were these peanut butter chocolate chip ones.  The kids kind of nibbled at them… because of the chocolate chips… and we have made them again.  But, they were not the “hit” I was expecting!

zc 1

Enter the zucchini breakfast cookies.  Hurrah… we have our hit!  (Though, I did hear comments about the ingredients beforehand!)  The kids and I both thought these were awesome!  (I may have made them twice this week!)

zc 2

 

The original recipe can be found here and as printed below.  I included my adaptations in parentheses because I was lacking a few ingredients.

Zucchini Bread Cookies

1 cup rolled oats

1 cup whole spelt flour  (I used whole wheat)

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup melted coconut oil

1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (I used one egg and a TBSP Agave)

1/4 cup + 2 tbsp pure maple syrup

1 cup grated zucchini (you can leave the skin on)

1/3 cup chopped walnuts  (I used pecans)

1/4 cup raisins

2 tbsp cacao nibs (I used chocolate chips)

Preheat oven to 375°F.  Prepare a large baking sheet by spraying with cooking spray or lining with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients (oats to salt).  In a separate bowl, mix the coconut oil, applesauce and maple syrup.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until the dry ingredients are incorporated.  Gently stir in the zucchini.  Fold in the walnuts, raisins, and cacao nibs.

Take spoonfuls of the batter and roll into golf ball sized cookies. Place each cookie on the prepared baking sheet and press down to flatten slightly.

Bake in the preheated oven for 10-13 minutes, (mine took 15 minutes) until cookies feel firm on top and are lightly browned on the bottom (mine took 13 minutes).

Let cool on baking sheet for a few minutes to firm up a bit more, then transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling. Store in an airtight container.

Makes about 22 cookies. (I only made 13 large ones.)

Leave a Reply

