Magnolia Seeds

One of the signs that fall has arrived at the Yeh house is the falling of the magnolia pods in our front yard.  Tuesday we celebrated the first day of fall with a homemade apple pie and pulling out all our fall decorations.  It was awesome, and pie pictures are coming!  But, the kids got equally excited tonight when I showed them the first magnolia pod on the ground with bright red seeds spilling out.  Sierra ran into the house to tell her sisters, who were back before I could say “Magnolia tree.”

mag 1

A lot has happened this past week.  Just one week ago today I was packing for our first mission trip as a family.  It was incredible, and I can’t wait to share more pictures!

mag 2

In the last week, we have journeyed to an orphanage in Mexico, where we left part of our hearts.  We returned home and were given a tiny kitten that needed a family, (as well as bottle feedings and care).  That night a wild animal got into our chicken coop that was accidentally left open.  Thankfully, I arrived with my flashlight before more chickens were taken, but we lost two chickens that night.  Laundry came out of the wash with a pink stain on most of the clothes.  ** sigh **  Back to laundry, school, soccer, piano, life.  Yes, it was a tiring week.  But, oh such a blessing!

mag 3

It is amazing to me how much I needed that mission trip.  It refreshed my spirit.  One night in particular, a little girl fell down and was crying.  As I picked her up, she wrapped her arms around my neck and buried her face in my shoulder.  She was about 9 or 10.  All I wanted to do was cry with her… she needs a mommy and daddy.  Feeling that sadness and empathy was good for my soul.

mag 4

The kids played with their seeds until the sun was gone.

mag 6

mag 7

mag 8

mag 9

An evening outside with my kids… cooler air… the “tradition” of playing with Magnolia seeds… reflecting on our time in Mexico… it all did my heart good!  Hope you had a wonderful start to fall!

Leave a Reply

