First Tomato(es)

I was passing by our garden bed this morning on my way to the chicken yard, when it occurred to me.  We have had a LOT of green tomatoes for quite some time.  Why isn’t there a red one, yet? I peeked inside, and guess what I found?

ftom 1

I was super excited and immediately called for my oldest daughter, who is also a huge fan of fresh tomatoes.  Being the good mom that I am, I offered it to my daughter.  She peeked in even further and found a second tomato!

ftom 2

“Aw… God must be blessing me for offering the tomato I wanted to my daughter.  I will eat the second tomato!”  (Please don’t learn your Theology from me!)  My son looks up at me and says, “I want it, I want it!”

“Are you sure?” I ask.

“I want it.”

“Here… smell it… do you think you would like it?”

“Yes.”

“Ok, here is your tomato.”

He chews and chews.  I am so excited; a healthy snack for my son!  Yes, I have found another tomato lover!  Oh wait… he pulls it out of his mouth and hands it to me.  “Don’t yike it.  You eat it!”

And so, the chickens got a morning treat!  (Though I did ponder eating it!)

And that is the story of our first tomato(es).

Leave a Reply

