A Recipe And a Sad Story

I love our bi-weekly Thursday routine.  For breakfast, we always do muffins.  Shortly thereafter our housekeeper arrives and we hit the road.  First stop: gymnastics.  Next: the library and Jamba Juice.  Finally, we either pick-up lunch or head  home to make lunch.  As we pull-up from a long morning out, we always have a little contest.  We have to answer these three questions:

1) Is the mail here?

2)  How many eggs did we get?

3)  Will the kitty be inside or outside?

(Side note:  I usually win!)  Anyway, this past Thursday, we no longer had to answer number three.  Our poor kitten was most likely caught by a wild animal.  We let him outside one night earlier in the week, and shortly after that I heard something.  My husband was watching the news, so it was hard to hear exactly what it was.  I asked him to turn it down and go call the cat.  No luck.  We haven’t seen him since.  We miss our sweet Spongers terribly.  I am thinking we just don’t have the right location for a cat!

That was our sad story.  Sorry for the downer on a lovely Friday.  Here is a yummy recipe to cheer you up!

I was looking for a “new” muffin recipe.  I was a little tired of our three favorites.  I wanted something healthy, but yummy.  So I made these up by mixing some of my old recipes.  I’ll call them healthy Pumpkin Muffins.

pm 1

 

Healthy Pumpkin Muffins:

1 1/2 cupe pumpkin pie filling

1/2 cup coconut oil, melted

1/2 cup maple syrup

3/4 cup buttermilk

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups whole wheat flour

1 cup whole oats

1/4 cup ground flax seed

1/4 cup sliced almonds

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp salt

Mix dry and wet ingredients separate.  Bake @ 350 for 22 minutes

2 responses to “A Recipe And a Sad Story

Leave a Reply

