Hiking in February

I don’t really consider myself a spontaneous kind of girl.  For the most part, I like things planned well in advance.  However, whenever we do something spontaneous, I always seem to enjoy it even more; spontaneous lunch dates with friends, spontaneous trips to the park… and spontaneous hikes!

hike 1

We were driving home from gymnastics on Thursday morning when I made the comment, “It’s a beautiful day.  We should go for a hike or something.”  (not really thinking we would, of course, because that would be way too spontaneous.  After all, I had to make lunch, do school, and put little M down for a nap!)  “Ok,” my husband responds.  And, there you have it!  As soon as we got home, I made some sandwiches, cut up some apples, filled some water bottles, got the dog and his leash, and we were off!

hike 2

I took these 2 pictures as soon as we got out of the car.  (The hiking trail head is only 1 mile from our house!)  I really wanted more pictures of the hike, but decided it would be too much to lug around my big camera.  It turned out to be a good decision, as I had Malachi or Sierra in our hiking backpack most of the time.  The good news is, we had a super fun time and made it to the waterfall just in time for lunch.  Our sweet dog loves hopping through the creek while we eat.  Malachi and Allison also enjoyed a little creek walk.  I used ice cream as a motivation for everyone to hike back down, and Malachi took a little snoozer in the backpack.  Natalie got a science lesson on how and why blisters are formed from her daddy.  Such great memories!  If only I would learn to be spontaneous more often…

Leave a Reply

