Valentine’s Day 2014

What a weekend… phew!  It felt like a whirlwind!  Friday, (Valentine’s Day), was awesome.  Saturday and Sunday were FULL, and the kids were zonked.  I think I’ve handled more 4-year-old tantrums in the last 2 days than ever before, but somehow God’s peace has kept me from “feeling it” as much as I normally would.  I’m actually thankful for the reminder that this is real life and I need God more than I could ever know.  Even as I type this, that Matt Maher song keeps coming to mind; “Lord I NEED you, oh I NEED you!  Every hour I need you!  My one defense.  My righteousness.  Oh God, how I need you!”

But back to Valentine’s Day… it started with the girls opening they bags.  It was especially fun since they had friend Valentine’s from a little Valentine party that they saved until this day.  Of course, they each got a special card from daddy that I have now filed away with the others they’ve received since birth.

vd 1

Breakfast:  eggs, bacon, and heart and star waffles.  I actually opted to have my bacon dipped in pancake batter as I have wanted to try that since seeing it on Pinterest.  (It was good, but I prefer my bacon mixed with eggs instead, I’ve decided.)

vd 2

Next we kidnapped or favorite teenagers, (whose parents happen to be some of our favorite friends), and headed to San Diego for the day.

vd 3

vd 4

Despite it being a beautiful blue sky day, just over the beach was a thick fog.  It was actually very cool.

vd 5

vd 6

A real sand dollar is actually purple when it is alive.  Who knew?  It made a great (and very smelly) addition to our girls’ shell collection!

vd 7

How do you like the heart puddle?  This boy LOVED it! 🙂

vd 8

Random surfer.  The fog made him look extra cool.

vd 9

vd 10

vd 11

vd 12

vd 13

vd 14

So, the real reason we went to San Diego and brought along our favorite teenagers was so we could go to a marriage conference in the evening.

vd 15

First stop: sushi.

vd 16

And, not just any conference… But one led by none other than my childhood crush, Kirk Cameron.  I’m still kicking myself, a little.  I probably could have met him if I was pushy.  But, I didn’t want to be.  I did get to talk to his mom, though.  She was very kind and gracious.  It was so fun to be there with my husband on Valentine’s day.  I’m so grateful he planned it!

vd 17

I’ll spare you the video of me singing the Growing Pains theme song at the top of my lungs as it was being played.  Happy Monday, my friends!

Leave a Reply

