Getting Ready…

Why do all good things have to come to an end?  (So glad Heaven never ends!)  This has been such a wonderful break, but tomorrow it’s back to school.  And, I am sure I will enjoy the routine once we’re back into it.  But, for now we are just enjoying our last day off!

Our final project serves two purposes: 1)  to have a fun craft day with Mom before school starts, and 2) to have a place to store fun mail!  My kids love to keep everything.  Pack rats, some might say!  Natalie got a cardboard box to decorate for her birthday, so we picked up two more when we went to the Japanese $1.50 store with our fun mail storage project in mind.  Even as I type, the girls are still painting… meaning this project was a hit!

paint 1

paint 2

paint 3

paint 5

This brings me to my part… I have had these succulent candles for many years just sitting in my credenza waiting for a chance to make an appearance.  I won them at a BUNCO night.

paint 4

I finally decided to give them a little paint job and set them up in my living room.

paint 6

Here’s how they turned out:

paint 7

I got the birch log from a soccer practice this fall — it was just sitting around the edge of the field!  I had my husband cut it into two, and originally used it first for our Polar Bear Party.  Now they have a new home in our living room!

paint 8

Hope your week is off to a wonderful start!

4 responses to “Getting Ready…

  1. Hi there! Great pictures! My name is Heather and I was hoping you would be willing to answer a quick question about your blog! My email is Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com 🙂

  2. Hi Cara, do you have any Valentine’s craft ideas for the craft-challenged? When I look up stuff to do, they usually require lots of parent fiddling! I’m looking for something thatkids our girls’ ages can do themselves, so it’s more meaningful. Have you found any like that?
    :)charlene

Leave a Reply

