Soft Pumpkin Granola Bars

I probably shouldn’t be blogging right now… I have spilled rice to clean, spilled milk to clean, markers on the walls to wash, and a plethora of toys and other things to clean…. and that’s just from my boy!  Yes, he was at his one-year-old finest today!  He even ate toothpaste and almost drank the mouthwash before I caught him!  But, that is for another post…  Today I am sharing a new breakfast recipe I was excited to discover.  It is healthy, and fall-inspired, not-to-mention something “different” than the norm.

pumpkin bread 1

The original recipe can be found here.  (side note:  I was excited to discover that this blogger is a “Yeh.”  Perhaps we are distant cousins!)  My recipe is distorted just a bit to add in sweetener.  A little maple syrup never hurt anyone, after all!  Here is what I did:

Soft Pumpkin Granola Bars

2 c rolled oats

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 c almond milk

1/4 c maple syrup

1 c pumpkin puree

3/4 c toasted almonds

Preheat oven to 400.  Prepare an 8-inch square pan and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients.  Mix in vanilla, eggs, almond milk, and pumpkin. Fold in almonds.

Spread evenly in loaf pan. Bake for 22-25 minutes, until the top is set and starts to darken.

 

In all fairness, I need to disclose that this was not a huge hit with the kiddos.  Ironically, they all said they loved it , but after a few bites they changed their minds.  Personally, I wasn’t sold after the first bite, but it grew on me to where I will definitely be making these again.

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

