My Big Fat Greek Lunch

Back when I was pregnant with Sierra, I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes.  Honestly, it was a lot tougher than it should have been, mainly because I realized just how much sugar I normally consumed.  Needless to say, as soon as she was born I went right back into my old eating habits.  Dessert?  Yes, please.  But, a few things did change…  For one thing, I no longer wanted cereal for breakfast.  My gd diet got me used to a much heartier breakfast and there was no going back!  And, the second change was my lunch.  I got in the habit of having a salad every day to the point where I still crave it at lunch time.  If I weren’t so lazy about it, I would still make a salad every day.  But, my salads now come in phases… and right now I’m in a big time Greek salad phase!

greek 1

If you’re a fan of Greek salads at all, you are going to thank me for this post!  After a simple Google search, I came across this recipe.  Ready?

Greek dressing:

1/2 cup olive oil (original recipe called for vegetable oil)

1/4 cup rice vinegar (original recipe called for lemon juice)

1 clove minced garlic

1 tsp oregano

pinch of kosher salt

That’s it!  It is so awesome!  I keep the salad very simple.  Romaine, Persian cucumbers, tomatoes, and feta. I have kalamata olives, too, but remember… I’m lazy, so I haven’t cut them yet.  So I don’t use them.  Lazy.

greek 2

And, we are still eating our naan bread.  This time I tried it with hummus.  Perfect side to my salad!

greek 3

2 responses to “My Big Fat Greek Lunch

    • It is VERY yummy! Funny, I just ordered some things from Day Spring and was totally thinking of you! I would LOVE to have you come by next time you are out this way! Great hearing from you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

