Back 2 Blogging…

It’s funny how taking an unintentional break from blogging makes it that much tougher to start again.  It’s kind of like exercising, I guess.  When you’re not in “the zone,” it’s tough to get back in!  Anyway, it has only been a week, but it feels like it’s been forever.  (Dramatic, I know — I live with 3 girls; there’s a lot of drama around here!)

The break was due to a lot of tiredness mixed with busyness, as well as a bad habit of falling on the couch after the kids are in bed and turning the news on.  Up until a few weeks ago, I would say my husband and I rarely watched tv.  Now with all the scandals going on in Washington, I find myself “vegging” in front of the news far too often.   It’s got to stop; who has time for tv?

Anyhoo, let’s see what I’ve got in pictures:

b2b 1

We tried another new “breakfast bar” recipe.  They were pretty.  But they weren’t good.  Perhaps it was my fault for making too many “substitutions.”  You can get the original recipe here.

b2b 8

The girls are back to french knitting after I let them pick out some new yarn from Tuesday Morning.  Great summer activity!

b2b 7 Collage

 

They also got these fun keychain laniards from their last Keepers of the Home meeting.  Apparently, I was suppose to fill out a form every time the girls memorized verses and read their Bibles.  I am so lazy like that.  Since they never asked me to fill out a form, I never did.  And, they never got prizes.  But, they never mentioned it either.  The last day as I watched the other kids collect their prizes, I felt guilty, so I finally just told the leader the girls had memorized 2 verses that week. Hence, the laniards.

(On a side note, the same thing seems to happen with summer reading programs.  The kids read like crazy, but I always forget to write it down and turn it in.  Not my gifting!)

b2b 6

We got some new nail polish Sierra picked out.  I had her trace her hands and paint her nails on paper to give me a few extra minutes of prepping dinner before I actually had to paint her nails.

b2b 5

We harvested our first yellow zucchini!  Time to bust out the zucchini recipes.  We also got a new egg basket to hang next to our new coop which is almost ready.  Thrilled.

b2b 4

I love how Trader Joe’s calls their root beer “vintage.”  It’s so much cooler than old-fashioned, which is such an old-fashioned word!  I will warn you, though — if you search for “vintage” on Craig’s list, not everyone has the same idea of what that means; ha!

b2b 3

Reading away…

b2b 2

 

I got a new candle.  I can’t resist a mark-down from $16 to $2.  It is super strong and just screams summer.  The first thing I do in the morning now is light my new candle.

I think tomorrow is our last day of school.  I believe we technically have another week left, but we’re at the end of our books and I think we can fit it all in tomorrow.  If so, I’m calling it quits!  I am ready for swimming, lack of structure, organizing, projects, camping, s’mores, ice cream… bring on summer!  I’ll hopefully show you my first summer project later this week.

Leave a Reply

