Messy.

Some days are messier than others, you know?

messy 1

Today’s messes may have included:

  • yogurt everywhere
  • an entire bottle of nail polish thrown and shattered all over cabinets and new floors
  • some banging that did some dry wall damage
  • spilled chicken food
  • spilled pasta
  • a recycling bin being dumped over and over
  • pee on the carpet

… and that was just from this little dude!

messy 3

When I dwell on it, it seems to consume me.  Why is it that some days I can laugh, and some days I can be overwhelmed?  Today was an overwhelming type day.  And really, there was no reason for it. The messes were cleaned up.  The house is almost back to normal after 3 weeks of chaos.  But, it was still overwhelming.  I found myself praying out loud – often – just saying all of God’s names.  Back in high school I had a poster of all of God’s names throughout scripture.  I would often lay in my room trying to memorize it.  I don’t know why.  At least, I didn’t know why then.  I know now.  Sometimes that’s all I can pray.  He is Peace.  When I can speak out loud who God is, then my messes seem… less messy.

I came across this song tonight, which just seemed so appropriate!

Wish it could be easy

Why is life so messy

Why is pain a part of us

There are days I feel like

Nothing ever goes right

Sometimes it just hurts so much

 

But You’re here

You’re real

I know I can trust You

Even when it hurts

Even when it’s hard

Even when it all just falls apartI will run to You

Cause I know that You are

Lover of my soul

Healer of my scars

You steady my heart

I’m not gonna worry

I know that You got me

Right inside the palm of your hand

Each and every moment

What’s good and what gets broken

Happens just the way that You plan

 

And I will run to You

And find refuge in Your arms

And I will sing to You

Cause of everything You are

You steady my heart

“Out of control” by Mindy Smith

Leave a Reply

