Random with a Recipe

nd 3

Oh, spring.  If I were a writer I would go on and on about you.  We are so enjoying being outside. Every. Single.  Minute.

nd 4

Unfortunately, our outdoor table needs to be replaced.  I woke-up one night to a loud crash, but was too tired to investigate.  In the morning I discovered our table top in a million glass pieces piled on the ground.  (Why do these things always happen when my husband is at work — and in the middle of the night?)

nd 5

So, for now we are still doing art… only outside… and on the ground.

nd 6

They don’t seem to mind.  And, we can snack on these:

nd 7
My husband is worried we won’t have any to harvest if we can’t stop snacking.  I say, my kids are happily eating vegetables: snack away!

nd 8

And, I promised a recipe.  Wow, you’re going to love me for this one.  (Or, be frustrated because you don’t have all the ingredients.  Sorry.  Go shopping.  It’s worth it!)

So, I found this recipe on Pinterest a while ago, but never remembered to buy dried wild blueberries, coconut in chip form, or agave nectar. Trader Joe’s now has these incredible coconut chips.   Have you tried them?  They are amazing.  I could eat a whole bag by myself in one sitting.  But, I digress… The recipe calls for unsweetened coconut chips, but this is where I had to deviate.  I used the TJ kind.  Oh, yummy!  And, I finally remembered to buy the blueberries.  Aaaannnnd, my Mom brought me some agave nectar.  I was set!   To be honest, I’ve tried other “breakfast cookies” and been somewhat disappointed.  Therefore, I tried not to get my hopes up.  One kid decided she didn’t like coconut, so she wouldn’t try them.  Another does not like blueberries, so she would not try them.  I could feel myself getting frustrated and discouraged.  JUST TRY A BITE!  But then I tried a bite.  And, I fell in love.  I decided it was better not to share these, so I let the other 2 girls have a bagel, while my oldest, my youngest and I all indulged.  Here is the simple recipe.

Blueberry Coconut Pecan Breakfast Cookies

1 1/2       cups gluten-free rolled oats
1             cup unsweetened coconut flakes
1             tablespoon golden flaxmeal
1/2          teaspoon salt
3/4          cups coarsely chopped pecans
1/2          cup dried blueberries
3             very ripe bananas, mashed
1/4          cup coconut oil, warm enough to be liquid
1             tablespoon agave nectar
1             teaspoon vanilla extract
Cooking spray
Preheat oven to 350°. Combine oats, coconut, flaxmeal, salt, pecans, and blueberries. Stir in bananas, oil, agave nectar and vanilla until well combined.
Press 2 tablespoons of mixture into a 2 1/2-inch round cookie cutter onto a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Continue with remaining mixture.
Bake at 350° for 25 minutes or until fragrant and golden. Cool on pan.
Yield: about 15 cookies.

Leave a Reply

