Happenings

As I got on the blog to write this,I couldn’t believe my last update was from out trip to the snow!  It was only 2 weeks ago, but feels like forever ago.  Perhaps because when we got back a bad case of the sickies made its way around our house.  I always seem to be in a time warp when the sickies come.  Funny how you can be sick just a few days and completely forget what “normal”  feels like!

Anyway, we are mostly back to normal and I am still trying to get back into my routine!  My mind is just swirling with thoughts of new curriculum, house projects, March birthdays, a dear friend moving way too far away, our garden, new chicks, a new season… and of course, laundry.  Does the laundry ever go away?  Here’s some of what we’ve been up to…

sa finger paints Collage

Finger paints!  Somehow I forgot about these.  They were a big hit since we haven’t done them in probably a year!

sa hat Collage

Making Andrew Jackson’s hat…. because, after all, why does Lincoln’s hat have to get all the presidential hat fame?  (You know you’re my favorite, Mr. Lincoln; just sayin’)

sa johnny cakes Collage

Making “johnny cakes” for science as we studied how the pioneers used corn for everything.  Really, they’re just like corn muffins, only the kids loved to call them johnny cakes like the book said!

sa kale chips Collage

Kale chips… been wanting to try these for quite some time now!  I think I overcooked them a bit, which meant none of us were fans.  But, I am going to try again!  I hear kale is a good source of calcium, and I certainly don’t drink enough milk, unless you count the half and half that goes in my coffee every morning.  Daniel bought organic as we’re trying all organic for a bit… but that’s another story!

sa outdoor paint Collage

Heading outdoors to craft… I am SO happy that spring weather has decided to pay a visit.  The most difficult thing about outdoor crafts is our crazy cat who simply insists on being at the center of all we do.

sa outdoor paints

Apparently, the fact that the water is black from watercolor paints makes no difference to our Stray!

sa sierra

Sierra made her first “real picture” n the white board.  I decided to take a picture.  Now every time she draws anything, she asks that I take a picture.  Precious!

sa toothless

Sweet # 2 lost tooth number 4.  I cannot tell you how precious I find a toothless smile.  Melts my heart!

sa waiting

And, my mom is here this weekend while my dad is at a car show in L.A.  It is a short trip, but perfect timing as my husband got called to work a brush fire and hasn’t been home.  Yesterday I found the girls doing their mathwork at the window to be ready for when they arrived.  Sierra sat outside to report of all happenings.  I ran to grab the camera because I found it precious!

sa gma

Even Malachi was excited!

sa gma books

Today Grandma helped with school by playing educational games and reading, which meant I got a long, relaxing shower!

And, she is cleaning the kitchen as I type, which means I get to finally blog!

And, that’s a glimpse into our happenings!

Leave a Reply

