Just Schooling Around

I don’t take pictures of all our school stuff; not even close!  But, I do take my fair share.  SO!  Instead of letting them rot on my camera, here’s a glimpse of some of our schooling days…

You know one thing I am so grateful about when homeschooling?  God seems to give me ideas just in the nick of time!  Seriously.  There are so many nights where I am just beat and can’t think of a single creative idea.  It used to stress me out… now I have no problem with it.  I go to bed and give my worry to God — inevitably, ideas come!  This particular day we were reading a poem called, “The Arrow.”  Out of nowhere I remembered an idea I pinned on Pinterest a while back.  So, we made these adorable little arrows and bows.  It was totally spontaneous.  (Ok, so God AND Pinterest can have a little credit!)  Of course, I should say my curriculum is all-inclusive and has many fun ideas, as well.  But in my opinion, you can’t have too much fun!

“Indian Quilts”  Painting.  Always fun.

Art and game time — outside!  This is one of my favorite parts of homeschooling.  Even when I taught high school math, as soon as the weather was nice enough we took our lessons outdoors.  There’s no greater classroom in my opinion!

More painting.  Still fun.

For some reason, the spontaneous creativity doesn’t happen as often with my 2-yr-old.  If I want an activity to do with her, I usually have to prepare something the night before.  Here we painted marshmallows and popcorn with sweetened condensed milk, milk, ad food coloring.  It was meant to be a project for Sierra, but most of the time I use this as an opportunity for the older girls to join in on the fun while I read to them.  So, that’s what we did!

Here’s another last-minute idea; we were suppose to make globes and name the continents, but instead of green paper and scissors, the girls used their mouths and seaweed!  (I’m not sure why Allison made her yucky face, since this is one of her most favorite and most requested snacks!)  My favorite quote:  “MOOOOOOM!!!  Sierra’s eating my Australia!” Ha!

More science; wind, waves, and tides!  We finally finished our seashore unit and will next move onto science in the colonial times.  I am hoping a trip to the tide pools will be in order soon.  I love how our curriculum had at least 2 – 3 experiments a week, tied in the Bible, and had the girls keep a science journal.  Good stuff.

So, that’s about it!  These are just some random schooling around shots.  Happy Wednesday!

 

 

 

2 responses to “Just Schooling Around

Leave a Reply

