Rosh Hashanah

I’m not sure how it started, but it was some time last year…  I was suddenly very interested in the Jewish holidays, and wanting to learn more about them.  After all, Jesus was a Jew!  And though we are not bound by the law but saved by grace, I believe it is still important to know the heritage of God’s chosen people.

Since most of my learning takes place in the setting of my homeschool classroom these days, I thought it would be fun to learn together with my girls.  To be honest, I’ve done little more than google about Rosh Hashanah, but I am happy we at least had a little celebration, a little learning, and a little eating; and perhaps next year we can dive deeper!

We’ve been blowing our make-believe “schofars” all day, so I am quite thankful for the quiet of this evening to blog!  To begin, we read about the significance of today, the history and the origin, and then had apples dipped in honey to signify the desire for a sweet new year.  We also learned about “repentance” and prayed forgiveness!  I feel like that was pretty important, so that my girls don’t always think prayer is just asking for blessings!

The apples and honey were under the watchful eye of Sierra.  Dip quick, or you may get a slap on your wrist!  (Crazy 2 – yr – olds need to learn to share!)

Natalie was my big helper when it came to making Challah bread.  Don’t ask me what the significance of challah bread is; we didn’t get that far!  🙂

Sierra painted the bread with egg yolks for us!

So, we still don’t know what the significance of challah is.  But, this we do know; it is YUUUUUMMMYYY!!!

Happy new year, and many blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

