The Grace Card

I know I haven’t fully explained my methods for encouraging positive behavior yet, but I will get to it.  Frankly, it is working great with one child, and not-so-great with another.  I know I have some “tweaking” to do.  But, basically this is how it goes:

On the first day of school, I had each kid design a “RAKE” can.  That stands for “Random Acts of Kindness Encouraged.”  We talked about Ephesians 4:32 which says “Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.”  I have a jar of popsicle sticks, and every time I catch the girls being kind to one another, they get to “rake up a stick.”  Once they’ve raked up 30 sticks, they get an “encourager card.”  The cards range from an extra story at night to extra computer time to a date with mom or dad.

Natalie raked-up her 30 sticks first, and got a card for a free ice cream from the ice cream truck.  We heard the truck passing, and my oldest had not yet picked out her card.  However, she was caught lying to me earlier in the day.  Then the idea struck.  “Allison, you may use your own money to buy an ice cream IF you give me a grace card.”  I decided to have one of my cards be a “grace card;” a card that can be used in exchange for not receiving a punishment they are due.  Allison was thrilled.  She ran and got her dollar, and we all enjoyed ice cream that night!

 

Orange creamsicles and push-ups… I feel like a kid again, just typing that!

 

This little boy may not have gotten any ice cream, but he sure was cute watching us eat ours!

 

This little dude melts my heart.  I’m quite certain he will never need a grace card.  Oh wait; didn’t I say that about each of my babies?  🙂

4 responses to “The Grace Card

  1. Look at Chi! He’s got hair! Can’t wait to cuddle him again! Sierra…(BIG SMILE!) Where are your cloths?
    Rake sticks & grace cards…great idea!
    love you all!

Leave a Reply

