First Day of School

The day finally came and went…. the first day of school. The girls had been looking forward to it and begging for it as if it were a trip to Disneyland.  They even made a paper chain to count-down the days. As much as I appreciate their enthusiasm, it did cause me to be a bit concerned at their expectation level — in other words, I hope I didn’t disappoint!

As I mentioned yesterday, the day started off quite early.  As tired as I was, that at least allowed me to get a jump start on preparing breakfast.  I had been wanting to make homemade donuts for quite some time, and this seemed like the perfect occasion.

I thought the doughnuts were yummy — the girls seemed to like the chocolate milk even better.  Funny how that works, huh?  After breakfast, I let them each go to their desks to find a card and a small gift.  I don’t necessarily intend to give them a gift each year, but they were in desperate need of covers for their Bibles as they are starting to get beat-up, so I thought this was the perfect opportunity to bless them with them.  The cards I do intend to give every year, as the girls absolutely adore getting cards from me.  (From anybody, really…)

Sierra got some colored glue sticks instead of a Bible cover.  She was thrilled and completed a masterpiece right away!

We don’t exactly have a classroom right now.  We have a downstairs room that has that potential in the future, but to be honest I really enjoy our current set-up. We work from the kitchen table.  It is part of a “great room,” (family room and kitchen), and the girls each have their desk niches in the family room. I recently got this red shelf to help keep me organized, and I am LOVING it!  I still don’t have it totally organized, but it is the best!

The first day we did a lot of talk about “expectations.”  I have been so lacking in having any sort of order to help encourage both their attitudes as well as their behavior and need to help with chores.  It took me all summer and about 15 Pinterest pins to come up with my own systems.  If you’re interested in what the final outcome is, let me know and I will do a post on that.  (Perhaps I should give it some time to see how it will work, first, but so far so good!)

 

It feels so nice to have 2 days under my belt.  Well, I guess I have 2 years under my belt as well, which is also nice!  Today was so much smoother than yesterday.  Perhaps it was because we got to sleep-in until 6:30am!  🙂  I know we’ll have lots more rough days… and even more good days… I’m just happy we’ll have them all together as a family!

4 responses to “First Day of School

Leave a Reply

