A Fun Find and a Favorite Recipe

Do you ever fall in love with an item at a store, and then walk around with it in your cart until you come up with a use for it?  That happened to me recently at Home Goods.  (Actually, that always happens to me at Home Goods only I don’t always find a use so sometimes I have to put it back!)  I found this “old” wooden crate and thought I would fill it with school supplies or something.  then it occurred to me…

I have been wanting a drink holder for our table FOREVER!  The girls take out far too many glasses a day. They need one spot to keep their daily cup to use over and over.  That’s it!  Of course, some day Malachi will need a spot, too.  So, I took it home and painted their initials on each spot.  I finished it off by painting a simple “refresh” on the outside just for fun.  I am in love with my new find!

And, I am in love with a new muffin recipe my girls go crazy over… They’re not really “healthy,” with all the oil and sugar, but there are some healthy elements like apples, raisins,  carrots, and almonds that help me feel better about serving muffins (frosting-less cupcakes!) to my kids for breakfast.  Would you believe the recipe is from the side of my flour bag?  I rarely cut those out, but this one intrigued me.  Here it is:

Glorious Morning Muffins

2 eggs

3/4 cup oil (I use EV olive oil!)

1/4 cup milk

2 tsp vanilla

1 1/3 cups unbleached flour  (The recipe calls for 2 cups, but I do some whole wheat, as well)

2/3 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup packed brown sugar

2 tsp baking soda

2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups shredded carrots

1 cup shredded apple

1/2 cup coconut

1/2 cup raisins

1/2 cup craisins (I added this part, as well!)

3/4 cup sliced almonds

Heat oven to 350.  In a large bowl, beat eggs, oil, milk, and vanilla.  In a separate bowl, mix flour, brown sugar, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  Combine wet and dry ingredients just until moistened.  Stir in carrots, apple, coconut, raisins and 1.2 cup of the almonds.  Divide batter into muffin cups with liners.  top with remaining almonds.  Bake 20 minutes. Makes 18 muffins.

Oh, and serve with cute napkins.  Ok, I made that part up, but I sort of have a napkin fetish and these were a recent gift from my dear friend Glory who always finds me the cutest napkins ever.  Aren’t they awesome?

6 responses to “A Fun Find and a Favorite Recipe

  1. Oh good grief you are genius! My kids do the same thing. New cups ALL DAY LONG. So I went and bought 12 new plastic cups for them to use cuz I was seriously tired of never having glasses. Seriously this would be better. I’m in! 🙂

  2. Your find turned out great! You have the best ideas! Seriously, I want to be like you. 🙂 Does being crafty rub off? Or maybe it’s like osmosis? heehee

  3. Ditto the first two comments!! Now I have to keep a lookout for something like that…. The girls are mailing your girls a “happy last day of summer” letter– we figured you would start soon! We have one week of summer left (translate: I have a week to get my life in order and get school ready!) Sure wish your decorating talents would rub off this way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

