Rambutan

 

Know what this is?  Neither did I… but it was on sale at the Asian Market, so I had to give it a try!  I got home and googled the name; Rambutan.  Turns out it’s a fruit from Malaysia similar to Lychee.  That “hairy” part is really like leather you make a little cut, bend it open and…

 

It’s like a peeled grape inside!  It just pops right out.  I thought it was very cool.  Inside it has a pit that resembles an almond.  There’s really not much flavor, nor much fruit.  But, it was oh so fun to try!

 

I wonder what will be on sale next week???

6 responses to “Rambutan

  1. That is so cool!!! My girls and I watch “Sweet Genius” on the food network, and they are always featuring a crazy secret ingredient like your Rambutans! I can’t wait to show Ellie and Abby these photos. Such a fun food to try!

  2. Hi Cara! My hubby was born in Indonesia (near Kalimantan) and has fond memories of eating rambutan as a kid. Hope to see you soon! 🙂 charlene

Leave a Reply

