Priceless

I took this picture about two weeks ago.  I took it for one reason only; I knew it would be one of the last memories of a girl who both naps and wears diapers.  I didn’t think it would be just two weeks later that I would indeed have a diaperless, napless girl!  I remember taking a picture of Natalie right before we took away her favorite lovie, “Gogo.”  She is holding Gogo and sucking her thumb.  That was how she always looked.   I took the picture and remember thinking, “Some day she won’t suck her thumb and I’ll forget what this looks like!”  Indeed, just a few weeks later the “Gogo fairy” came, (I bet you didn’t know there was a Gogo fairy!) and Natalie has not sucked her thumb since.  That picture is now on our fireplace and is so precious… indeed, if it were not for that picture I would not be able to remember a Natalie who sucked her thumb as much as she breathed!

In my fatigue, (and believe me I am living on coffee these days!) I want to still appreciate these moments.  I want to remember.  I want to stop and take the picture.  It is precious to me… a memory that will soon fade.  It is priceless!

Leave a Reply

